Saturday, January 9, 2010

Exhausted but happy.

I was up until 3:30 a.m getting things ready for the invasion of the little people today...aka, N's birthday party. But considering all the fun they all seemed to have, it was soooo worth it. Mostly just pictures today....too tired write any more.




Friday, January 8, 2010

N's 6th Birthday.


OK, to start off with, YES, I know I have already failed with the 365 plan for this blog, but I'm still going to keep writing when I can and sooner or later it has to become a habit right?

Today was N's 6Th birthday. I really can hardly believe that he is 6 already. Time seems to have just flown by. It honestly does just seem like yesterday when he was born. Its kind of hard to get used to the idea that in the blink of an eye I don't have anymore babies in the house.

He was the toughest labor of the boys (he was transverse which means that he decided to come out face up and ready to see the world), he was the longest labor at just under 7 hours, his was the most painful labor (coming out face up also means that we were spine rubbing on spine and let me tell you....that hurts BIG TIME!) and he was the biggest, at 7 lb 10 oz, but he was also the most laid back baby of the 4. I'm serious, this kid was a dream baby....nursed well, no matter where we were, napped like a champ (2 naps a day of at least 2 hours each) and was sleeping through the night by 6 weeks. I couldn't have asked for a better baby.

And I am happy to report that for the most part, he still to this day is an easy going, happy go lucky kid, who loves to help people, makes friends easily, has an awesome love of reading and learning, a HUGE imagination and whos favorite vegetable is broccoli. I could probably go on for hours about what an awesome little boy he is.

So today, on the day when he has decided that he "is a big boy now" and doesn't need my help with ANYTHING anymore, I am reflecting on all of the good times we've had together, what the future hold for us, and more importantly what it holds for him, as he continues to grow and learn and explore all that life has to offer. I have a feeling things are going to be great!

Monday, January 4, 2010

4/365 J...Picaso in the making?



I finally found something that J really enjoys doing, that helps him relax, teaches him how to focus, and take his time. And something that he will be able to show off once he's finished and keep forever. Paint by numbers.

He got one for Christmas and has been working on it since the 26th. He is doing one or two colors at a time, and although he isnt working on it everyday, he has learned to pick it up when he's bored and cant think of anything else to do. He likes that time seems to pass quickly and he can see that he has accomplished something....I wonder if this is the start of something bigger....eventually, painting his own ideas perhaps? an art gallery showing some day maybe? or maybe even just a means to help alleviate some stress once in a while when his brothers are bothering him. Who knows? But what I do know is that its the best $8.99 I've ever spent on J and I'll be more than happy to buy him more when he's done this one.

Sunday, January 3, 2010

3/365 Sore throat, ear ache and the end of Christmas break?




The kids are supposed to head back to school tomorrow after being off for 16 (long) days for Christmas break. I say supposed to for 2 reasons. 1: Old Man Winter has hit with a vengance....it has been blustery and cold here again today and I dont think its stopped snowing for more than 5 min all day. Which means the roads are a mess. Which means there is a strong likelihood that the busses will be cancelled tomorrow. I usually take them anyway because they are walkers and because most of the parents driver their kids to school when the busses are cancelled and classes go on as normal. However, this brings me to point number 2. Both N and J are not feeling well. N started with a stuffy nose yesterday and today it has morphed into a stuffed up, runny nose, a cough and an ear ache. And J has had a really bad sore throat all day and a bit of a cough. SO....I think, as much as I was looking forward to being able to put the house back together after Hurricane Christmas Break....unless they are both feeling a lot better in the morning (hey! A girl can always hope right?)....I will probably be keeping them home tomorrow....and Christmas break continues....woohoo!

Saturday, January 2, 2010

2/365...A snowy day


We didnt do much of anything today...it was blustery and cold outside....too cold for us mere mortals to head out to do anything fun. The kind of day that we just wanted to be inside in pj's snuggled up under blankets. Hoping for a break in the wind tomorrow so maybe we can go sledding on the last day before Christmas break is over....we'll see.

Friday, January 1, 2010

A New Year, A New Project 1/365



So here we go. The first day of my attempt at posting everyday for the entire year. Already I'm freaking out because here we are on day one and I dont really have anything to write about. The kids are all ok. New Years eve was pretty much the same as any other night in our house...all the kids asleep by 9 and me asleep on the couch by 11. The only one who really did anything to ring in the New Year in style was C. He went to a buddies place who was having a small party and then spent the night.
N woke up with a cold....great way to start off a new year (eye roll). I cant even figure out how he got it considering the only place he's been in the past week is the bank and that was yesterday for about 10 min. I just hope he feels better before the big 6th birthday party next Ssaturday. O M Gosh!!! 6.....where does the time go?

Sunday, November 29, 2009

Believe

Today the boys went to see Santa. N was stoked. B and J not so much. I think B is still on the fence about whether or not the jolly fat guy is real, but he went and put in his wish "just incase". J was hilarious. Spent the whole morning coming up to me and asking if "Santa would be ok with me asking for ______" (insert what ever ultra expensive electronic gift you can think of here). He finally decided to just ask for a suprise. N wrote Santa a letter. I think he was assuming that Santas memory is as bad as mine is and he was worried that he might forget what N wanted. He had a great time reading the letter to Santa and listening to Santa tell him how proud he was of him for working so hard at being a good boy. Nothing makes that kid smile bigger then hearing how proud someone is of him.